Result of selection for alternate EITI CSO Board member

Blogs and News

In August 2017, one of the five alternate civil society representatives on the International Board of the Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative (EITI), Wendy Tyrrell from the Australian chapter of Transparency International, stepped down. In line with the civil society guidelines, an independent Nominations Committee, established by the PWYP Global Council at the end of 2015 to conduct the selection of the civil society Board members for the 2016-2019 term, was tasked with finding a replacement. An open call for applications was launched in September 2017, and disseminated by the PWYP Secretariat and shared by the EITI Secretariat. Eight applications were received and assessed by the Nominations Committee, who then shortlisted three candidates for interviews.

Jana Morgan, Director of Advocacy and Campaigns at the U.S. based International Corporate Accountability Roundtable (ICAR), was selected by the Nominations Committee to succeed Wendy Tyrrell on the international EITI Board as alternate to Daniel Kaufmann. Jana Morgan will be serving on the EITI Board until the end of the current Board term in 2019.

The Nominations Committee’s report outlines in more detail the selection process. On this occasion, the Nominations Committee also expresses its support for the upcoming review of the civil society constituency guidelines, which will be facilitated by the Consensus Building Institute and will contribute to a revised process on how civil society organisations are selected to sit on the EITI Board.

Share this content:

Related Resources